Thomas Huber
Studio II, 1991

  • Thomas Huber (Zurich, 1955)
  • Studio II, 1991
  • Oil on canvas, 150 x 200 cm
  • Acquired with the support of the Union Bank of Switzerland Jubilee Foundation, 1992
  • Inv. 1992-004
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Thomas Huber studied at the Basel Kunstgewerbeschule, the Royal College of Art in London and the Düsseldorf Staatliche Kunstakademie He now lives and works in Germany, having moved from near Düsseldorf to Berlin in 2008. Towards the end of his studies he painted a trilogy that can be read as programmatic of the oeuvre to come: Rede über die Sintflut (Talk on the Great Flood) (1982, Gabriele Henkel collection), Rede zur Schöpfung (Talk on Creation) (1982, Gabriele Henkel collection), and Rede in der Schule (Talk in the School) (1983, Darmstadt, Hessisches Landesmuseum). All three paintings contain Huber’s key motif of a painting within a painting as a way of coming into contact with both the real and imaginary worlds and foregrounding the gateway between the two.

Studio II was the first of Huber’s works to be acquired by the museum, followed by a series of watercolours and drawings that explore in detail the themes he handles both in the planning stages and while working on the canvas itself. Studio II is part of the ‘banks’ series in which Huber draws a parallel between the process of converting and growing ideas, values and energies, and the work of bankers. The title refers to Huber’s view of banks as a metaphor for a place of creation and alchemy, where gold turns into beauty and animal tallow turns into soap bubbles. As Huber wrote in a 1992 text entitled The Bank. Representing Value: ‘Are we not strangely similar, us artists and bankers? Changers, multipliers of money, manufacturers of gold, shimmering speculators in appearances. Charlatans? Charmers promising miraculous increase? We both paint pictures of a happier time.’

Exposé actuellement

The Collection

Bibliography

Thomas Huber. Der Duft des Geldes, exh. cat. Utrecht, Centraal Museum Utrecht, Hanover, Kestner-Gesellschaft Hannover, Zürich, Kunsthaus Zürich, Darmstadt, Verlag Jürgen Häusser, 1992.

Beat Wismer (ed.), Thomas Huber. Das Kabinett der Bilder, exh. cat. Aarau, Aargauer Kunsthaus, Rotterdam, Museum Boijmans-van Beuningen, Krefeld, Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Baden, Aarau, Lars Müller, Aargauer Kunsthaus, 2004.

Thomas Huber, ‘La banque. Une représentation de la valeur,’ in Thomas Huber. Mesdames et Messieurs. Conférences 1982-2010, Geneva, Mamco, 2012: 159-170. Quoted from Thomas Huber, Die Bank – Eine Wertvorstellung. Schriftliche Niederlegung einer Reder zur ästhetischen Ökonomie, Bonn, Galerie Philomene Magers, Darmstadt, Verlag Jürgen Häusser, 1992.

Thomas Huber
Studio II, 1991

  • Thomas Huber (Zurich, 1955)
  • Studio II, 1991
  • Huile sur toile, 150 x 200 cm
  • Acquisition avec le soutien de la Fondation du Jubilé de l'Union de Banques Suisses, 1992
  • Inv. 1992-004
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Formé à la Kunstgewerbeschule de Bâle, au Royal College of Art de Londres et à la Staatliche Kunstakademie de Düsseldorf, Huber vit et travaille depuis lors en Allemagne, d’abord près de Düsseldorf, puis dès 2008 à Berlin. C’est à la fin de ses études qu’il peint une trilogie qui peut se lire comme le programme de tout l’œuvre à venir : Rede über die Sintflut (Discours sur le déluge) (1982, coll. Gabriele Henkel), Rede zur Schöpfung (Discours sur la création) (1982, coll. Gabriele Henkel), et Rede in der Schule (Discours à l’école) (1983, Hessisches Landesmuseum, Darmstadt). Ces toiles contiennent toutes l’élément, fondamental chez l’artiste, du tableau dans le tableau – ce dernier étant le moyen d’accéder à la fois au monde réel et au monde imaginaire, et de rendre visible le passage de l’un à l’autre.

Studio II est la première œuvre de Huber à entrer dans les collections du Musée, suivie d’une série d’aquarelles et de dessins dans lesquels il explore en détail les thèmes abordés, autant en amont qu’en parallèle de l’élaboration de sa toile. Studio II fait partie de la « série des banques », dans laquelle l’artiste établit un parallèle entre le processus de conversion et d’accroissement des idées, des valeurs et des énergies, et le travail du banquier. Son titre, « L’atelier », souligne que l’artiste considère ici la banque comme une métaphore du lieu de création, un lieu de transformation alchimique des matériaux, où l’or se métamorphose en beauté et la graisse animale en bulles de savon. Comme le formule Huber dans un texte de 1992 intitulé « La banque. Une représentation de la valeur » : « Ne sommes-nous pas étrangement semblables, nous autres artistes et banquiers ? Changeurs, multiplicateurs d’argent, fabricants d’or, chatoyants spéculateurs de l’apparence. Des charlatans ? Des séducteurs promettant une augmentation miraculeuse ? Nous peignons tous deux les tableaux d’un temps plus heureux. »

Bibliographie

Thomas Huber. Der Duft des Geldes, cat. exp. Utrecht, Centraal Museum Utrecht, Hannover, Kestner-Gesellschaft Hannover, Zurich, Kunsthaus Zürich, Darmstadt, Verlag Jürgen Häusser, 1992.

Beat Wismer (éd.)
Thomas Huber. Das Kabinett der Bilder, cat. exp. Aarau, Aargauer Kunsthaus, Rotterdam, Museum Boijmans-van Beuningen, Krefeld, Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Baden, Aarau, Lars Müller, Aargauer Kunsthaus, 2004.