Robert Motherwell
Elegy Study A, 1977

  • Robert Motherwell (Aberdeen, 1915 - Provincetown, 1991)
  • Elegy Study A, 1977
  • Oil on paper mounted on cardboard on canvas, 36 × 53.5 cm
  • Alain and Suzanne Dubois Collection. Promised gift
  • Inv. Alain_030
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Robert Motherwell studied at Stanford and Yale universities. His intellectual interests spanned philosophy, literature, art history and psychology. In 1940, on returning to America after extensive travels in Europe, where he also had his first solo exhibition (Paris, 1939), he settled in New York and confirmed his decision to be a painter. At the time he frequented European surrealists then in wartime exile, and, particularly in their advocacy of the creative powers of the unconscious (automatism), they would have a decisive influence on him as well as other future proponents of American abstract expressionism, including Jackson Pollock.

This study is part of a sizeable ensemble of works responding to the Spanish Civil War (1936–9), which Motherwell continued to work on throughout his career. Paintings, prints and drawings in a variety of formats constitute a memorial to this conflict that the artist, following from Pablo Picasso, took as a symbol of oppression and injustice. From one Elegy to the next, the size, medium and other details of the works may vary, but the motifs remain the same: ovoid forms and broad vertical bands alternate and extend over horizontal supports. These forms have been interpreted as anything from uteruses or phalluses to architectural structures, but Motherwell himself described them as the testicles of a dead bull in the ring, exhibited to the view of all. The cycle of life and death is indeed what underlies this particular composition.

The palette is limited to black, so that there is a strong contrast between the painted and the unpainted zones. The massive forms, attracted to the right by a zone saturated with black, contrast with the lightness and swiftness of the artist’s gesture whose spontaneity, paradoxically rehearsed and somewhat attenuated by repetition (the first Elegies date to 1948), is betrayed by the splashes. Motherwell was constantly striving for a balance between accident and control, between emotion and self-mastery, between fluidity and structure.

Bibliography

David Anfam, Barbara Guest et alii, Robert Motherwell: Elegy to the Spanish Republic, exh. cat. New York, Lévy Gorvy, 2015.

MoMA Highlights. 350 œuvres du Museum of Modern Art, New York, New York, The Museum of Modern Art, Madrid, Ediciones El Viso,1999/2013: 216.

Jack Flam, Katy Rogers and Tim Clifford, Robert Motherwell. Paintings and Collages: a Catalogue Raisonné 1941-1991, 3 vol., New Haven, Yale University Press, 2012.

Robert Motherwell
Elegy Study A, 1977

  • Robert Motherwell (Aberdeen, 1915 - Provincetown, 1991)
  • Elegy Study A, 1977
  • Huile sur papier marouflé sur carton sur toile, 36 x 53,5 cm
  • Collection Alain et Suzanne Dubois. Promesse de don
  • Inv. Alain_030
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Féru de philosophie, de littérature, d’histoire de l’art et de psychologie, Motherwell étudie aux universités de Stanford et de Yale. À son retour en 1940 d’un long périple à travers l’Europe, où a lieu sa première exposition personnelle (Paris, 1939), il s’installe à New York et opte définitivement pour une carrière de peintre. Il fréquente alors les surréalistes immigrés aux États-Unis. Ces derniers, et notamment le recours qu’ils préconisent aux forces de l’inconscient (l’automatisme), vont exercer une influence décisive sur lui et d’autres représentants de l’expressionnisme abstrait, dont Jackson Pollock.

Cette étude fait partie d’un ensemble d’œuvres considérable sur la Guerre civile espagnole (1936-1939), auquel Motherwell a travaillé tout au long de sa carrière. Peintures, estampes et dessins, de différents formats, composent un mémorial à ce conflit que l’artiste, dans le sillage de Picasso, tient pour le symbole de l’oppression des êtres humains, et de l’injustice. D’une Elegy à l’autre, indépendamment du format et de la technique et en dépit de quelques variations, les motifs sont les mêmes : des ovoïdes et de larges bandes verticales alternent et se déploient sur un support horizontal. Si leur interprétation varie, de la représentation de l’utérus et du phallus à celle d’architectures, Motherwell a lui-même décrit ces formes comme les testicules d’un taureau mort dans l’arène, exhibées aux yeux de tous. C’est bien le cycle de la vie et de la mort qui sous-tend cette composition.

La palette est réduite au noir, créant un fort contraste entre zones peintes et zones en réserve. Les formes massives, attirées vers la droite par une aire saturée de noir, s’opposent à la légèreté et à la rapidité du geste dont la spontanéité, paradoxalement rodée, comme atténuée par la répétition (les premières Elegies datent de 1948), est trahie par les éclaboussures. Motherwell cherche sans cesse un équilibre entre l’accident et le contrôle, entre l’émotion et la maîtrise de soi, entre la fluidité et la structure.

Bibliographie

David Anfam, Barbara Guest et alii, Robert Motherwell : Elegy to the Spanish Republic, cat. exp. New York, Lévy Gorvy, 2015.

MoMA Highlights. 350 œuvres du Museum of Modern Art, New York, New York, The Museum of Modern Art, Madrid, Ediciones El Viso,1999/2013, p. 216.

Jack Flam, Katy Rogers et Tim Clifford, Robert Motherwell. Paintings and Collages : a Catalogue Raisonné 1941-1991, 3 vol., New Haven, Yale University Press, 2012.