Cy Twombly
Proem, 1983

  • Cy Twombly (Lexington/VA, 1928 - Rome, 2011)
  • Proem, 1983
  • Oil, crayon and pencil on paper, 100 x 70 cm
  • Alain and Suzanne Dubois Collection. Promised gift
  • Inv. Alain_126
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Cy Twombly’s work draws on a deep well of scholarship. The artist displayed boundless intellectual curiosity from a very young age. In 1952 he travelled across Europe and North Africa with Robert Rauschenberg. He visited Rome and came back to live there five years later, but regularly returned to the United States. His paintings and drawings are influenced by contemporary abstract expressionism, although he was a marginal figure in the movement: while he eschewed figurative art like other artists in the same school, he did introduce depth of field into his works.

Proem results from the same creative force and makes use of the same visual language as much of Twombly’s work: eruptive intensity, marks that seem to mimic writing, and interference between drawn elements and verbal fragments. Each work offers a synthesis of the artist’s own memory, knowledge, and experiences, transformed into emotional energy.

This drawing was produced in Rome. The date, 23 November 1983, and the title, taken from an 1847 poem by John Greenleaf Whittier that is a vibrant ode to nature, float over the centre of the sheet. The information, presumably added at the end of the creative process, are rare instances of explicit detail in Twombly’s oeuvre, while also forming part of the work itself. The way they are written suggests they emanate as much from the cloud above which they hover as from the background spattered with words, for instance ‘F O R M I A N  D R E A M S’, that are largely illegible, having been covered with white oil paint. The composition thus feels balanced between the pared-down upper part and the dense, frenetic lower part. Twombly organises controlled chaos that can also be seen in the black and brown lines that run off to the right, smudged by the brush.

Bibliography

Nicola Del Roscio, Cy Twombly Drawings. Cat. Rais. Vol. 7 1980-1989, Munich, Schirmer/Mosel, 2016: n. 168.

Jonas Storsve (ed.), Cy Twombly, cat. exp. Paris, Centre national d’art et de culture Georges-Pompidou, Paris, Éditions du Centre Pompidou, 2016.

Démosthènes Davvetas, Écriture poétique & langage plastique. Cy Twombly, vol. 3, Paris, Au Même Titre éditions, 2000: 40.

Cy Twombly
Proem, 1983

  • Cy Twombly (Lexington/VA, 1928 - Rome, 2011)
  • Proem, 1983
  • Huile, craie grasse et crayon sur papier, 100 x 70 cm
  • Collection Alain et Suzanne Dubois. Promesse de don
  • Inv. Alain_126
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

L’œuvre de Twombly est le fruit d’une grande érudition. Dès son plus jeune âge, l’artiste fait preuve d’une curiosité intellectuelle sans bornes. En 1952, il voyage en Europe et en Afrique du Nord, accompagné de Robert Rauschenberg. Il se rend notamment à Rome où il s’installera cinq ans plus tard, tout en séjournant régulièrement aux États-Unis. Son œuvre peint et dessiné est tributaire de l’expressionnisme abstrait, dont Twombly est contemporain. Il se situe toutefois en marge de ce courant. Si, à l’instar de ses confrères, il se détache de la représentation, il travaille en revanche la profondeur de l’espace pictural.

Proem procède de la même force créatrice et participe du même langage plastique que de nombreuses œuvres de Twombly : intensité éruptive du geste, caractère scriptural des marques, interférences entre signes graphiques et fragments verbaux. Chacune d’entre elles fait la synthèse de la mémoire, des connaissances et des expériences de l’artiste, transformées en énergie émotionnelle.

La date (23 novembre 1983) et le titre (d’après un poème éponyme écrit par John Greenleaf Whittier en 1847, ode vibrante à la nature) de ce dessin réalisé à Rome flottent au-dessus du centre de la feuille. Probablement ajoutées à la fin du processus de création, ces informations sont de rares repères explicites, tout en étant partie intégrante de l’œuvre. Elles ont été inscrites de manière à émaner autant de la masse nébuleuse qu’elles surmontent que de l’arrière-plan maculé de mots (par exemple, « F O R M I A N  D R E A M S »), peu lisibles en raison de reprises à l’huile blanche. Aussi la composition n’apparaît-elle pas déséquilibrée malgré une partie supérieure épurée et une partie inférieure dense et frénétique. Twombly organise un chaos maîtrisé qui s’observe aussi dans les lignes noires et brunes fuyant vers la droite et brouillées par le pinceau.

 

Bibliographie

Nicola Del Roscio, Cy Twombly Drawings. Cat. Rais. Vol. 7 1980-1989, Munich, Schirmer/Mosel, 2016, no 168.

Jonas Storsve (dir.), Cy Twombly, cat. exp. Paris, Centre national d’art et de culture Georges-Pompidou, Paris, Éditions du Centre Pompidou, 2016.

Démosthènes Davvetas, Écriture poétique & langage plastique. Cy Twombly, vol. 3, Paris, Au Même Titre éditions, 2000, p. 40.