Jannis Kounellis
Untitled Paint, 1965

  • Jannis Kounellis (Le Pirée, 1936 - Rome, 2017)
  • Untitled Paint, 1965
  • Acrylic on canvas, 207 x 207.7 cm
  • Alain and Suzanne Dubois Collection. Promised gift
  • Inv. Alain_206
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Jannis Kounellis left his native Greece for Rome in 1956. During his studies, he was influenced by artists such as Lucio Fontana and Alberto Burri and by the rich cultural and historical heritage of his adopted city, which rivalled that of his native country.

Prior to 1965, Kounellis focused on painting. He rose to acclaim with canvases stencilled with large black letters, numbers and symbols, but soon decided to turn his back on what was quickly becoming recognised as his signature style. Untitled Paint is one of a group of works from the period just before he distanced himself from painting and joined the arte povera movement, taking up natural materials such as jute, coal, cotton and stones, which then became his preferred media.

Its composition reflects the artist’s hesitations over his future artistic path. Echoing contemporary developments in art, it incorporates three directions. It nods to pop art with a touch of surrealism in the appropriation of words taken from everyday life and referring to the object itself as an artefact (in this case, the stylised word ‘paint’, as if written with a reed pen, evoking an advertising billboard). It refers to figurative art with the motif of the cloud or smoke, and the horizon line that gestures towards landscape painting, and it also hints at geometric abstraction in its large square format and the black strip against a white background.

Untitled Paint offers a synthesis of various artistic languages and self-referentially describes itself as a painting. The stripped down, highly efficient composition, structured by one straight line and two diagonals, each consisting of a single element, generates a range of unresolved tensions: linguistic utterance or representation? Figurative or abstract? Black, grey or white?

 

Bibliography

Bruno Corà and Lóránd Hegyi, Jannis Kounellis, exh. cat. Saint-Étienne, Musée d’art moderne et contemporain de Saint-Étienne Métropole, Milan, Silvana Editoriale, 2014.

Mary Jane Jacob and Thomas McEvilley, Jannis Kounellis, exh. cat. Chicago, Museum of Contemporary Art, Milan, Arnoldo Mondadori Editore, 1986.

Jannis Kounellis
Untitled Paint, 1965

  • Jannis Kounellis (Le Pirée, 1936 - Rome, 2017)
  • Untitled Paint, 1965
  • Acrylique sur toile, 207 x 207,7 cm
  • Collection Alain et Suzanne Dubois. Promesse de don
  • Inv. Alain_206
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Kounellis quitte sa Grèce natale en 1956 pour s’établir à Rome. Au cours de ses études, il est influencé par des artistes comme Lucio Fontana et Alberto Burri. Il est également marqué par la richesse culturelle et historique de la capitale italienne, qu’il juge seule capable de rivaliser avec le patrimoine de son pays d’origine.

Jusqu’en 1965, l’artiste se consacre à la peinture. Il rencontre le succès avec des toiles portant de grands signes noirs (lettres, chiffres, symboles), réalisés au pochoir, mais il décide bientôt de renoncer à ce qui est rapidement perçu comme un style. Untitled Paint appartient à un groupe d’œuvres datant de cette période, celle précédant sa prise de distance avec la peinture, et son rattachement à l’Arte povera avec l’emploi de matériaux naturels (jute, charbon, coton, pierres, etc.) qu’il privilégiera désormais dans ses œuvres.

Cette toile frappe par sa composition qui exprime l’indétermination de Kounellis quant à la voie à suivre. En écho à l’actualité des tendances artistiques, elle associe en effet trois propositions : elle affiche un esprit Pop teinté de surréalisme de par l’appropriation de mots tirés du quotidien et désignant l’objet comme un artefact (ici un « Paint » stylisé, comme tracé au calame, qui évoque une enseigne publicitaire) ; elle convoque la figuration avec le motif du nuage ou de la fumée, et une ligne d’horizon qui fait basculer la composition vers un paysage ; elle renvoie enfin aux origines de l’abstraction géométrique avec son grand format carré et sa bande noire sur fond blanc.

Untitled Paint est une synthèse de différents langages plastiques et exprime par une tautologie ce qu’elle est : de la peinture. La composition épurée et efficace (l’image est structurée par une ligne droite et deux diagonales, chacune formée d’un élément) produit des associations à géométrie variable (énoncé linguistique/représentation, figuration/abstraction, noir/blanc/gris, etc.), qui demeurent irrésolues.

Exposé actuellement

La collection

Bibliographie

Bruno Corà et Lóránd Hegyi, Jannis Kounellis, cat. exp. Saint-Étienne, Musée d’art moderne et contemporain de Saint-Étienne Métropole, Milan, SilvanaEditoriale, 2014.

Mary Jane Jacob et Thomas McEvilley, Jannis Kounellis, cat. exp. Chicago, Museum of Contemporary Art, Milan, Arnoldo Mondadori Editore, 1986.