Giuseppe Penone
Luce e ombra

A 14.5 m-high tree made of bronze, granite and gold has taken root at MCBA.

In the museum’s main hall, the Italian artist Giuseppe Penone sculpture proclaims the spirit of the site while immediately making clear its embrace of the world of art. The piece is fashioned from the raw conditions that underpin the visible, namely light and shade.

Luce e ombra is a gift to MCBA and its visitors from the gallery owner Alice Pauli. Dating from 2011, Penone’s sculpture, the first work to have been installed in the new MCBA, took shape from a casting of a real tree. The leaves of the “globe” nestled in the tree’s branches are formed from 24-carat gold leaf. The tree weighs 3,500 kg and is made up of 13 elements, i.e., 11 branches; a trunk stretching over 10 m and weighing nearly 2,000 kg; and an 800 kg granite sphere.

Giuseppe Penone: “The tree soars towards the sky and its leaves form a large spherical shape meant to capture a maximum amount of light. That’s why its leaves are gold foil. The bronze, on the other hand, is an element that is subjected to the force of gravity, which points us towards the depths of the earth, towards darkness”. Giuseppe Penone (born 1947 in Garessio; lives and works in Turin) is associated with the Arte povera movement, which has sought to return art to its fundamentals by encouraging reflection on the relationship between nature and culture.

Video:
Pictures : Messieurs.ch

Editing : MCBA, Loïse Cuendet

G. Penone in the Collection

Giuseppe Penone
Luce e ombra

Un arbre de bronze, de granit et d’or d’une hauteur de 14,5 mètres a pris racine au MCBA.

Dès le hall central, la sculpture de l’artiste italien marque l’esprit des lieux, et, d’emblée, son appartenance au monde de l’art. L’œuvre est construite sur les conditions premières du visible: la lumière et l’ombre.

Luce e ombra a été offerte au MCBA, et ainsi à ses visiteuses et visiteurs, par la galeriste Alice Pauli. Datée de 2011, première œuvre à être installée dans le nouveau MCBA, la sculpture est le résultat du moulage d’un vrai arbre. Le feuillage du globe a été doré à la feuille d’or 24 carats. L’arbre pèse 3’500 kilos. Il est composé de 13 éléments: 11 branches; le tronc mesurant plus de 10 mètres et pesant presque 2’000 kg; la boule en granit de 800 kg.

Giuseppe Penone: «L’arbre s’élance vers le ciel et le feuillage s’élargit en une forme ample et sphérique afin de recueillir un maximum de lumière. Voilà la raison pour laquelle ses feuilles sont dorées. Le bronze par contre est un élément soumis à la force de gravité qui nous dirige vers les profondeurs de la terre, vers l’obscurité.» Giuseppe Penone (né en 1947 à Garessio, vit et travaille à Turin) est associé au mouvement de l’Arte povera, qui prône le retour de l’art à l’essentiel en engageant une réflexion sur la relation entre nature et culture.

Vidéo:
Images : Messieurs.ch
Montage : MCBA, Loïse Cuendet

Commentaires d'œuvre