Franz Gertsch
Doris, 1989-1990

  • Franz Gertsch (Mörigen, 1930)
  • Doris, 1989-1990
  • Colour woodcut on Japan paper, 218 x 158 cm, ed. 8/18
  • Alain and Suzanne Dubois Collection. Promised gift
  • Inv. Alain_377
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Franz Gertsch’s earliest paintings can be read in the light of pop art, with compositions based on photographs, figures reduced to silhouettes, a lack of detail, simplified shapes and stretches of colour. In the early 1970s, however, he began to mimic the precision of photography by producing such detailed paintings that from a distance they appeared more lifelike than life itself. These large-format works, based on photographs often taken by Gertsch himself, recount an era through portraits of artists and genre scenes.

When Gertsch was looking for new approaches to art in 1986, he experimented with his first woodblock prints using a technique he had recently perfected. He pressed a gouge knife onto a block of wood to obtain a copy of the source image that was as detailed as possible thanks to thousands of tiny points of varying depth. The original image was screened onto the printing surface, coated in a thin layer of blue dye, letting the artist follow the progression of his work by visualising every mark left in the holes made by the points. The surface left standing out in relief was inked and printed, while the hollows left the paper white.

Gertsch makes his own ink from pure pigments purchased in Kyoto and orders his paper from one of Japan’s finest paper makers, Heizaburo Iwano. Each sheet is carefully hand-printed, a process inspected through large magnifying glasses, requiring input from several people including the artist himself. The eighteen prints in the Doris edition are printed in different colours in three chromatic groups. This work is one of the grey group, with an added touch of sepia pigment inspired from the colour of ash. Each variant has its own aura, but all provide an extraordinary tactile sensation, opening up a new perception of the image.

 

Bibliography

Rainer Michael Mason, Franz Gertsch. Visages paysages, exh. brochure. Vevey, Musée Jenisch Vevey – Cabinet cantonal des estampes, 2017.

Andrea Firmenich and Johannes Janssen (eds.), Franz Gertsch. Holzschnitte. Aus der Natur gerissen, exh. cat. Bad Homburg, Museum Sinclair-Haus, Köln, Wienand, 2013.

Rainer Michael Mason (ed.), Franz Gertsch. Large-scale Woodcuts/Xilografías monumentales, exh. cat. Geneva, Cabinet des estampes du Musée d’art et d’histoire, 1990: 66-67, cat. 10.

Franz Gertsch
Doris, 1989-1990

  • Franz Gertsch (Mörigen, 1930)
  • Doris, 1989-1990
  • Xylographie en couleurs sur papier japon, 218 x 158 cm, éd. 8/18
  • Collection Alain et Suzanne Dubois. Promesse de don
  • Inv. Alain_377
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Les premières peintures de Gertsch peuvent être considérées à la lumière du Pop Art : compositions tirées de photographies, réduction des figures à des silhouettes, absence de détails, simplification des formes et aplats de couleurs. Au tournant des années 1970, l’artiste matérialise au contraire la précision de l’image photographique en peignant avec une minutie telle que ses tableaux semblent, à distance, « plus réels » que le réel. Ces grands formats, d’après des photographies souvent prises par Gertsch lui-même, racontent une époque à travers des portraits d’artistes et des scènes de genre.

En 1986, alors qu’il cherche de nouvelles solutions picturales, Gertsch réalise ses premières xylographies selon une technique qu’il vient de mettre au point : il appuie sur la planche de bois avec un gouge-couteau de manière à obtenir un modelé de l’image-source aussi nuancé que possible grâce à des milliers de petits points plus ou moins profonds. L’image originale est projetée sur la matrice qui est recouverte d’une fine couche de teinture bleue permettant à l’artiste de suivre la progression de son travail en visualisant chaque marque grâce au trou laissé. La surface demeurée en relief sera encrée et imprimée, alors que le pointillé en creux sera traduit en réserve (le blanc du papier).

Gertsch prépare lui-même ses encres à partir de pigments purs achetés à Kyoto et commande son papier auprès de l’un des meilleurs fabricants japonais, Heizaburo Iwano. L’impression manuelle de chaque estampe au moyen de lentilles de grosses loupes est délicate et requiert la collaboration de plusieurs personnes, dont l’artiste. Chacune des dix-huit épreuves formant l’édition de Doris est tirée dans une teinte différente selon trois sous-groupes chromatiques. Cette feuille appartient à une déclinaison de gris, ici avec une touche de sépia – un pigment inspiré de la couleur de cendres. Chaque variante possède ainsi sa propre aura, mais toutes délivrent une extraordinaire sensation tactile et ouvrent à une nouvelle perception de l’image.

Bibliographie

Rainer Michael Mason, Franz Gertsch. Visages paysages, livret d’exp. Vevey, Musée Jenisch Vevey – Cabinet cantonal des estampes, 2017.

Andrea Firmenich et Johannes Janssen (éd.), Franz Gertsch. Holzschnitte. Aus der Natur gerissen, cat. exp. Bad Homburg, Museum Sinclair-Haus, Cologne, Wienand, 2013.

Rainer Michael Mason (éd.), Franz Gertsch. Large-scale Woodcuts/Xilografías monumentales, cat. exp. Genève, Cabinet des estampes du Musée d’art et d’histoire, 1990, p. 66-67, cat. 10.