Alex Katz
Green Scarf, 1975

  • Alex Katz (New York, 1927)
  • Green Scarf, 1975
  • Oil on canvas, 122 x 152.5 cm
  • Alain and Suzanne Dubois Collection. Promised gift
  • Inv. Alain_423
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Influenced by pop art, Alex Katz produced a body of figurative painting dominated by portraits and landscapes. His subjects are broken down into large sections of colour enriched with careful detailing in a smooth, neutral style.

In this work, a cross of dark wood is placed slightly off-centre behind a woven wicker frame, perhaps the back of a chair or bench, whose left-hand side lies along the edge of the canvas, its weave forming a regular, delicate pattern. In the foreground, in front of the cross and wicker frame, are the head and shoulders of a woman looking off slightly to one side. She is wearing a black blouse and brown jacket and on her head is the item that gives the work its character and its title, a green headscarf. The scene takes place in nature: a green meadow can be seen in the background with a high horizon line opening onto a turquoise strip that suggests water rather than sky. The natural world is also present in the fabric printed with white-petalled flowers.

While the shadows on the face and neck are simplified to the extreme, the artist has created a subtle interplay of visual echoes between the woman’s eyebrows, the flower stems, the wickerwork, and the folds and details of the jacket. The anonymous portrait, in harmonious chilly hues of blue and green and warmer yellows, ochres and browns, is timeless. The woman’s gaze, lost in the distance as if seeking something outside the artist’s restrictive frame, adds a touch of melancholy. The decision to place the figure in a precise construction and the woman’s minimal yet majestic expressiveness may gesture to Piero della Francesca, an artist Alex Katz admired greatly.

Bibliography

Bernard Fibicher, Catherine Lepdor et alii, Peinture. Alex Katz & Félix Vallotton, exh. cat. Lausanne, Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts, Milan, 5 Continents, 2013: 29.

Carter Ratcliffe, Robert Storr et alii, Alex Katz, London, Phaidon Press, 2005.

Éric de Chassey (ed.) Corps social, exh. cat. Paris, École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1999: 52.

Alex Katz
Green Scarf, 1975

  • Alex Katz (New York, 1927)
  • Green Scarf, 1975
  • Huile sur toile, 122 x 152,5 cm
  • Collection Alain et Suzanne Dubois. Promesse de don
  • Inv. Alain_423
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Dans le sillage du Pop Art, Katz conçoit une peinture figurative faisant la part belle aux portraits et aux paysages. Il décompose ses sujets en de larges masses de couleur, enrichies de quelques détails soignés, avec un style lisse et neutre.

Ici, une croix en bois foncé, légèrement décentrée, est placée derrière un cadre en osier tressé (peut-être le dossier d’une chaise ou d’un banc), dont le bord gauche longe celui de la peinture et dont un ornement fin et régulier constitue le centre. Au premier plan, devant la croix et le cadre en osier, est inscrit le portrait d’une femme en buste, au regard oblique. Elle porte une blouse noire et une veste brune, et est coiffée – là est l’élément qui fait la particularité de ce portrait et donne son titre au tableau – d’un fichu vert. La scène est située dans la nature : on aperçoit un pré vert avec une ligne d’horizon très haute et, au-delà, une bande turquoise qui évoque plutôt l’eau que le ciel. La nature se retrouve également dans le tissu imprimé de fleurs aux pétales blancs.

Si les ombres sur le visage et le cou sont extrêmement simplifiées, l’artiste établit en revanche un jeu subtil de correspondances formelles entre les sourcils de la femme, les tiges des fleurs et le treillage en osier, les plis et détails de son veston. Ce portrait anonyme tout en contrastes harmonieux de couleurs froides (vert-bleu) et chaudes (jaune-ocre-brun) a quelque chose d’intemporel. Les yeux de cette femme perdus dans le lointain lui donnent un aspect mélancolique, comme si elle cherchait une issue au cadrage (à la mise au carreau) imposé par le peintre. L’inscription d’une figure dans une construction précise ne tiendrait-elle pas de Piero della Francesca, artiste vénéré par Katz, de même que l’expressivité à la fois minimale et majestueuse de la femme au fichu vert ?

Bibliographie

Bernard Fibicher, Catherine Lepdor et alii, Peinture. Alex Katz & Félix Vallotton, cat. exp. Lausanne, Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts, Milan, 5 Continents, 2013, p. 29.

Carter Ratcliffe, Robert Storr et alii, Alex Katz, Londres, Phaidon Press, 2005.

Éric de Chassey (dir.) Corps social, cat. exp. Paris, École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1999, p. 52.