David Hominal
Flowers, 2006

  • David Hominal (Evian, 1976)
  • Flowers, 2006
  • Acrylic on paper, 148 x 190 cm
  • Gift of the artist, 2009
  • Inv. 2009-002
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

David Hominal mixes images from different sources and references  with different arts and pictorial traditions in order to take on the great narratives of painting, and even to partake in them, with the gravity of a person forging their own path, despite the doubts. For him, painting is an imperative duty: a space of respite as well as of tyranny, which in spite of it all, remains a realm of endless possibility.

Hominal’s love of classical music and jazz is regularly echoed in his work, notably in the words – musical terms, names of musicians, titles, etc. – that he inscribes there in block print. Here, a diaphanous ‘REQUIEM’ (from the Latin word for ‘rest’) is bannered across the cusp of a flowery meadow and an electric-blue sky. The iconography of Flowers is thus rich in symbols. In the foreground, filling more than half the image, the capsules of opium poppies – the opiate latex oozes from the incisions made in them – surround the last blooming flower. A bright, luminous pink, this dominates the picture like a lighthouse in the night, piercing the sky with its gleams. A dreamlike vision of luxuriant nature in the chiaroscuro of consciousness, this work exudes a serene melancholy.

Hominal usually works in series and it is tempting to see another, larger work of his, Requiem (2006, held at the Museum), also made on the same fragile paper support as the pendant of Flowers. It certainly helps orient our reading: blazoned across its surface, the words ‘PAINTING’, ‘REQUIEM’, ‘PAINTING’ are obscured by a layer of white paint, and over the second ‘PAINTING’ is another ‘REQUIEM’, this time its white letters formed by a black outline. The artist seems to be defying the often-proclaimed death of painting with his own persistence. At the same time, he evokes the vain desire to represent things that do not last.

Exposé actuellement

The Collection

Bibliography

Laurence Schmidlin (ed.), David Hominal, Vevey, Musée Jenisch Vevey, Zurich, JRP Ringier, 2016 (Binding Sélection d’Artistes n. 60).

Bernard Fibicher, Catherine Lepdor and Sarah Zürcher. Hespérides, exh. cat. Lausanne, Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts, 2009: 65 and 112.

David Hominal, Nicolas Pages and Philippe Pirotte, You’ll Never Walk Alone, exh. cat. Lausanne, Espace Arlaud, Lausanne, Musée cantonal des beaux-arts de Lausanne, 2007:  32-33.

David Hominal
Flowers, 2006

  • David Hominal (Evian, 1976)
  • Flowers, 2006
  • Acryl sur papier, 148 x 190 cm
  • Don de l'artiste, 2009
  • Inv. 2009-002
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Hominal mêle des images de sources diverses et des références à différents arts et traditions picturales, avec la volonté de se confronter aux grands récits de la peinture, voire de s’y inscrire, et avec la gravité de celui qui se fraye un chemin, malgré les doutes. La peinture est pour lui un devoir impératif : espace de répit autant que de tyrannie, elle demeure envers et contre tout la promesse de tous les possibles.

Amateur de musique classique et de jazz, Hominal les convoque régulièrement dans son œuvre à travers des mots qu’il inscrit en lettres capitales dans l’espace pictural (termes musicaux, noms d’artistes, titres, etc.). Ici, un diaphane « REQUIEM » (du mot latin signifiant « repos ») s’inscrit à la limite d’un pré fleuri et d’un ciel bleu foncé, électrique. La messe du souvenir qui se joue est un chant sans fin. L’iconographie de Flowers est ainsi riche de symboles. Au premier plan, occupant plus de la moitié de l’image, des capsules de pavots somnifères – dont s’écoule l’opium après qu’on les a incisées – entourent la dernière fleur épanouie. D’un rose éclatant et lumineux, elle domine comme un phare dans la nuit et perce le ciel de quelques éclaircies. Vision onirique d’une nature luxuriante, dans le clair-obscur de la conscience, cette œuvre dégage une mélancolie sereine.

Hominal travaille généralement par série, et l’on est tenté de voir dans Requiem (2006, conservé au Musée), de plus grand format, sur le même support précaire de papier, le pendant de Flowers. Cette autre œuvre aiguille ainsi notre lecture de la première : disparus sous une couche de blanc, les mots « PAINTING », « REQUIEM », « PAINTING » s’y succèdent. La seconde occurrence de « PAINTING » est doublée d’un « REQUIEM » aux lettres cernées de noir. À la mort souvent annoncée de la peinture, l’artiste semble opposer sa persistance. Mais il évoque tout autant le désir vain de représenter ce qui ne dure pas.

Exposé actuellement

La collection

Bibliographie

Laurence Schmidlin (dir.), David Hominal, Vevey, Musée Jenisch Vevey, Zurich, JRP Ringier, 2016 (Binding Sélection d’Artistes no 60).

Bernard Fibicher, Catherine Lepdor et Sarah Zürcher. Hespérides, cat. exp. Lausanne, Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts, 2009, p. 65 et 112.

David Hominal, Nicolas Pages et Philippe Pirotte, You’ll Never Walk Alone, cat. exp. Lausanne, Espace Arlaud, Lausanne, Musée cantonal des beaux-arts de Lausanne, 2007, p. 32-33.