Richard Artschwager
Splatter Piano II, 1995

  • Richard Artschwager (Washington, D.C., 1923 - Albany, 2013)
  • Splatter Piano II, 1995
  • Formica and varnish on wood, aluminium, approx. 170 x 127 cm
  • Alain and Suzanne Dubois Collection. Promised gift
  • Inv. Alain_192
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Richard Artschwager’s oeuvre was influenced by his mother, an artist, and his father, a botanist. Though he studied science and then earned a living for his family as a furniture maker, he never entirely turned his back on art: for instance, he was Amédée Ozenfant’s assistant in Paris in 1949. When his flourishing furniture workshop burned down in 1958, he took up drawing classes, reawakening his passion for art.

Aiming to make the most of his skills, Artschwager soon took his art in a new direction. He explored the use and aesthetic value of objects by drawing on his own craft skills to produce fine art. He first produced small wall sculptures, then experimented with pieces on a human scale. His works featured interplaying geometric shapes, colours including acid brights, and industrial materials generating both volume and pictoriality. A typical work such as Description of Table (1964, New York, Whitney Museum of American Art) is a rectangular parallelepiped bearing a Formica image of a wooden table covered with a white tablecloth, with a negative (black) space between the four legs.

Splatter Piano II is one of a series of later works in which the artist engages in more sophisticated play with the same basic idea. A grand piano is reduced to two dimensions and then “splattered” across a corner of the room. The work is a response to the use of space, which is often wasted. The instrument is divided in two along the vertical axis, with one side made of Formica, the other side in imitation “wood” with paint mimicking its grain. The right-hand side is also inset with an aluminium plaque that reflects the pink book of scores and the brown fake wood, further undermining the viewer’s understanding of the “cubist” object. The piano’s formal and functional qualities are taken so far that the effigy develops a certain degree of kitsch.

 

Bibliography

Jennifer R. Gross (ed.), Richard Artschwager, exh. cat. New York, Whitney Museum of American Art, Los Angeles, Hammer Museum, 2012.

Arthur C. Danto, Jacinto Lageira and Ingrid Schaffner, Richard Artschwager, exh. cat. Jouy-en-Josas, Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, 1994.

Jörg Zutter (ed.), Un musée pour demain? L’art contemporain dans des collections privées vaudoises, Les Cahiers du Musée des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne n. 8, 1999: 36, n. 2.

Richard Artschwager
Splatter Piano II, 1995

  • Richard Artschwager (Washington, D.C., 1923 - Albany, 2013)
  • Splatter Piano II, 1995
  • Formica et vernis sur bois, aluminium , env. 170 x 127 cm
  • Collection Alain et Suzanne Dubois. Promesse de don
  • Inv. Alain_192
  • © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

Artschwager subit l’influence d’une mère artiste et d’un père botaniste. Sans jamais vraiment renoncer aux arts visuels – il sera, par exemple, l’assistant d’Amédée Ozenfant à Paris en 1949 –, il étudie les sciences, avant de subvenir aux besoins de sa famille en fabriquant des meubles. Cette activité prospère prend fin lorsque son atelier est détruit par un incendie en 1958. Il reprend alors des cours de dessin et reconsidère sa passion pour l’art.

Souhaitant mieux mettre à profit son savoir-faire, Artschwager donne très rapidement une nouvelle orientation à son travail. Interrogeant les caractères utilitaire et esthétique des objets, il transpose son artisanat dans le domaine des beaux-arts. Il fabrique d’abord de petites sculptures murales, puis explore des formats à échelle humaine. Jeux de formes géométriques, de couleurs (parfois acides) et de matériaux industriels, à des fins d’illusion, ses œuvres associent volume et picturalité. Ainsi l’archétypique Description of Table (1964, New York, Whitney Museum of American Art), un parallélépipède rectangle qui porte l’image, en formica, d’une table en bois recouverte d’une nappe blanche, avec un espace négatif (noir) entre les quatre pieds.

Splatter Piano II fait partie d’un ensemble d’œuvres plus tardif dans lequel l’artiste poursuit ces jeux, avec une plus grande sophistication. Un piano à queue réduit aux deux dimensions est « éclaboussé » (splatter[ed]) dans l’angle d’une pièce. Artschwager donne ici une réponse à l’occupation de l’espace, souvent perdu. L’axe vertical subdivise l’instrument en deux parties : formica d’une part, imitation bois d’autre part, avec un effet peinture pastichant les veines du bois. La partie droite est également sertie d’une plaque d’aluminium qui réfléchit le cahier à partitions rose et le faux bois brun, minant un peu plus la compréhension de cet objet « cubiste ». Les qualités formelles et fonctionnelles du piano sont exploitées si loin que son effigie converge vers un style au kitsch certain.

Bibliographie

Jennifer R. Gross (éd.), Richard Artschwager, cat. exp. New York, Whitney Museum of American Art, Los Angeles, Hammer Museum, 2012.

Arthur C. Danto, Jacinto Lageira et Ingrid Schaffner, Richard Artschwager, cat. exp. Jouy-en-Josas, Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, 1994.

Jörg Zutter (dir.), Un musée pour demain ? L’art contemporain dans des collections privées vaudoises, Les Cahiers du Musée des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne n° 8, 1999, p. 36, no 2.